Vuelta a Castilla y León LIVE - Stage 2


 Notes:  (latest notes always appear at the top)

- Dwars Door Vlaanderen live ticker here. (French, A Travers La Flandre).  (Google-translated to English, Across Flanders)  Our full Live Coverage Guide for today's races coming up around 13:00 CET (8am U.S. Eastern), before live streaming begins (Flanders starts first, then Castilla y Leon).  Start times below.

- Cycling fans in most markets can watch Wednesday's Dwars door Vlaanderen (Across Flanders) LIVE on (click link for more info, geo-restrictions, etc.)  The CTV coverage is scheduled to begin at 14:25 CET (9:25am U.S. Eastern).  The race itself begins at 11:40 CET (6:40am U.S. Eastern).  Dwars Door Vlaanderen Official Website - Start List (.pdf) (Chavanel, Boonen, Devolder, Nuyens, Furlan, Hoste, Duclos-Lassalle, Beppu, Bak, Arvesen, Guesdon, Cruz, Burghardt, Eisel, Pozzato, McEwen, Steegmans, Hammond, Haussler, Knaven, Wrolich...) --more links at race time

- Wednesday's Vuelta a Castilla y Leon Stage 3 (156.9km) departs Sahagún at 12:35 CET (7:35am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at Estación Inv. De San Isiro at around 16:30 CET (11:30am U.S. Eastern).  Vuelta a Castilla y Leon live video streaming coverage should begin sometime after 15:30 CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- TT photos here and via the Yahoo! Sports and Graham Watson links at bottom of gray section at right.

- Watch video highlights from today's time trial here.  (01:09) (

- Vuelta a Castilla y Leon LIVE via direct stream too. (direct link to same feed as the first one, links at right)  May take a few moments to start up.

- Race LIVE video now. (link in gray area at right)

- Stage 2 TT is underway.  Not much information yet from the live ticker.  It indicates that Alejandro Valverde departs at 14:36 CET (9:36am U.S. Eastern) and Alberto Contador at 15:21 CET (10:21am U.S. Eastern).  Live video should begin sometime after 15:30 CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Giro organizers holding out hope for Armstrong.  "We’re used to watching Armstrong pull off miracles, so we’re still hoping he can do one more," Giro director Angelo Zomegnan told The Associated Press on Tuesday.  Article here.

- French sports daily L'Equipe unsurprisingly made Armstrong's collarbone injury their cover story today.  The issue's daily comic shows tennis player Rafael Nadal, with arms the size of tree trunks, crushing Andy Murray into the court with his racket (Nadal crushed Murray in the final Sunday at Indian Wells), with Murray exclaiming "He's not the one breaking his collarbone!"  L'Equipe consulted doctor Gerard Nicolet, a past member of the medical staff of the Tour de France, who, while not knowing the exact nature of Armstrong's fracture, believes Armstrong will be training again quickly: on the rollers in 10-15 days after treatment in the U.S., on the road in 3 weeks.  The article also notes that Frenchman Frédéric Guesdon, 37 (like Armstrong), broke his collarbone February 22 at the Tour of Algarve and exactly one month later, two days ago, was racing again (Cholet).  Guesdon, who won Paris-Roubaix in 1997, said that it was tough to come back so quickly but "I prefer to tough it out than to watch Paris-Roubaix (April 12) on TV and have regrets..."  (After 22 years in Issy-les-Moulineaux, l'Equipe moved its offices last night to Boulogne-Billancourt, also just outside Paris.  The sports daily now no longer shares an office complex along the Seine river with Tour de France organizer Amaury Sport Organization (A.S.O.), also owned by the Amaury Group.  Note that both L'Equipe and A.S.O. have been rumored targets for take-over bids and I have previously speculated that Amaury president Marie-Odile Amaury may be positioning L'Equipe and/or A.S.O. for sale.  -Pete)

- Today's Vuelta a Castilla y Leon Stage 2 Individual Time Trial in Palencia is scheduled to begin at 13:39 CET (8:39am U.S. Eastern) when the first rider departs. Live video streaming should get underway sometime from 15:30 CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

Stage 2 Profile: 28.2km Individual Time Trial

- We recommend you open our Twitter feed in a separate window now.  If ever we have a server outage, we will update on Twitter and direct you to a live coverage page on another server.

- Welcome to our live coverage guide for the 2009 Vuelta a Castilla y León.

2009 Vuelta a Castilla y León LIVE
Spain, March 23-27
Official Website
Start List

 Stage 2 starts at 13:39 CET (1:39pm CET) when the first rider depart


 Palencia weather

Live video streaming:
(direct stream)

(Expected from 15:30 CET
(10:30am U.S. Eastern))


(more video links to come if available)


Live audio streaming:


Live tickers:
(Babelfish-translated to English)

(more tickers to come if available)

News and photos:

(cycling news)
Yahoo photo gallery (AP/AFP)

Graham Watson


Copyright © 2009