2009 Trophée des Grimpeurs Live Coverage

2003 Trophée des Grimpeurs: The women (pictured) compete in the morning, the men in the afternoon.
Copyright © 2009 Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com

2009 Trophée des Grimpeurs Official Poster
(That's Jeannie Longo up front)

The 2009 Trophée des Grimpeurs (or Climbers Cup) is tomorrow, Sunday, in Argenteuil outside Paris.  David Lelay (Agritubel), then with Bretagne-Armor Lux, won the 2008 edition of the men's race and is back this year to defend.  Lelay had a strong ride at the recent Fleche Wallonne, giving himself a shot at victory on the final climb, before fading and finishing 12th.

Also expected on the start line: Feillu, Jalabert, Moreau (2004 winner), Geslin (2007 winner), Joly, Vaugrenard, Voeckler, Duclos Lassalle, Dumoulin, El Fares.

The best-ever finish by an American in this race was Bobby Julich's second place in 1999.

The Trophee des Grimpeurs is part of the French Cup.  The race is run on a 7.5km circuit: the women complete 8 tours, the men 17 tours.

Jeannie Longo, the winningest cyclist in history (over 1,000 career wins!), won the 2008 edition of the women's race.  Longo, 50, is also back to defend.  Longo will once again ride without teammates.

A U.S.A. women's developmental team will be on the start line:  Jerika Hutchinson, Alison Starnes, Devon Haskell, Jo Markham, Lindsay Myers and Sinead Miller.  Allez, les filles!

2004 Trophée des Grimpeurs: The legendary Jeannie Longo on the victory podium.
Copyright © 2005 Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com

Eurosport France will be showing the Men's 2009 Trophee des Grimpeurs live.  To our knowledge, this is the first time there has been live coverage of this event, at least in recent years.  No guarantees but if anyone is streaming this event online, we'll post links.

Trophee des Grimpeurs Official Website
Women's Start List (.pdf)
Men's Start List (.pdf)
Women's race starts at: 11:00 CET (5am U.S. Eastern)
Men's race starts at: 14:25 CET (8:25am U.S. Eastern)
Live coverage on Eurosport France: 16:45 CET (10:45am U.S. Eastern)