2017 Volta a Catalunya LIVE stream, Preview, Start List, Route Details, Results, Photos, Stage Profiles

 

Bookmark and Share

Follow cyclingfans on Twitter and never miss a race. Cyclingfans.com: The #1 destination on the internet for live race coverage.

 

- 2017 Tour of Catalunya Live Online Coverage Guide -

Nairo Quintana won the 2016 Volta a Catalunya.  (file photo)
Nairo Quintana (Movistar) photographed by Pete Geyer, www.cyclingfans.com
photo Copyright © 2013 Pete Geyer
- Click for High Definition - more Nairo Quintana -

2017 Volta a Catalunya Stage 7 Profile

 Notes:  (latest notes always appear at the top)

 
Cyclingfans LIVE on Twitter

Also on today: Gent-Wevelgem LIVE
Also on today: Cape Epic LIVE

 

- Official site ticker/tracking LIVE here.  (auto-translated)

- LIVE video here.  (Eitb, geo-restricted)  - LIVE video here.  (ESport3, geo-restricted) - LIVE video here.  (Tdp, geo-restricted)

- LIVE video here and here.  (English, Eurosport)

- LIVE video here.  (French, Eurosport)

- LIVE video here.  (Dutch, Eurosport)

- Videos:  Volta a Catalunya Videos

- Results:  Volta a Catalunya Results


- Photos:  Volta a Catalunya Photos

- Final Start List here.

- Sunday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 7 departs Barcelona at 11:00am CET (5:00am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Barcelona at around 2:04pm CET (8:04am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 12:15pm CET (6:15am U.S. Eastern).

- Daryl Impey (Orica-Scott) won Stage 6.  Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) remains leader in the general classification.

- 2017 Volta a Catalunya Stage Previews, Towns, Timetables, Profiles:

Stage details Stage profiles
Stage 1: Monday, March 20
Calella/Calella (178.9 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
 
Stage 2: Tuesday, March 21
Banyoles/Banyoles (41.3 km TTT)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
Stage 3: Wednesday, March 22
Mataró/La Molina (Alp) (188.3 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
 
Stage 4: Thursday, March 23
Llívia/Igualada (194.3 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
Stage 5: Friday, March 24
Valls/Lo Port (Tortosa) (182 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
 
Stage 6: Saturday, March 25
Tortosa/Reus (189.7 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
Stage 7: Sunday, March 26
Barcelona/Barcelona (138.7 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.

 

- News: Valverde comes within a whisker of a third Volta a Catalunya stage win. (Cyclingnews) - One final hurdle remaining for Movistar leader

- News: Contador moves into second as Froome falls apart. (Cyclingnews) - Trek leader rises up the rankings on a brutal day in the mountains

- News: Impey wins Volta a Catalunya stage 6. (Cyclingnews) - Froome tumbles down GC leaderboard after missing early split

- Saturday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 6 departs Tortosa at 12:20pm CET (7:20am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Reus at around 5:04pm CET (12:04pm U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:25pm CET (10:25am U.S. Eastern).

- Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) won Stage 5 and is new overall leader.

- News: Contador lacking the 'spark' to fight for Volta a Catalunya victory. (Cyclingnews) - Spaniard into third overall but Valverde and Movistar dominate GC

- News: Valverde en route to second Volta a Catalunya victory after mountain win. (Cyclingnews) - Movistar leader moves into top spot overall with solo win on Volta's toughest stage

- News: Froome impresses with strong second place in toughest Volta mountain stage. (Cyclingnews) - Briton narrowly avoids high-speed crash earlier in stage, apologizes for error

- News: Valverde wins on Tortosa. (Cyclingnews) - Van Garderen dropped on final climb

- Friday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 5 departs Valls at 12:25pm CET (7:25am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Lo Port (Tortosa) at around 5:02pm CET (12:02pm U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:40pm CET (10:40am U.S. Eastern).

- Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis) won Stage 4 ahead of Davide Cimolai and Daryl Impey.  Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing) remains leader in the general classification.

- News: Contador: It's not just up to me to attack on the mountain stage. (Cyclingnews) - Stage 5 in this year's Volta takes riders up Lo Port climb

- News: Froome chases down late attack by Valverde and Soler in Volta a Catalunya. (Cyclingnews) - Sky looking good for stage 5 showdown

- News: Bouhanni wins snow-shortened stage 4 of Volta a Catalunya. (Cyclingnews) - Start moved after snow

- News: Volta a Catalunya stage reduced by 58km due to snow and cold weather. (Cyclingnews) - Long descent from the Pyrenees cut after activation of the UCI Extreme Weather Protocol

- News: Van Garderen takes Volta a Catalunya lead but loses Dennis. (Cyclingnews) - Australian drops out after TTT mayhem

- News: Contador keeps Volta a Catalunya hopes alive on La Molina. (Cyclingnews) - 'There is no doubt, Friday will be the most decisive stage,' says Trek-Segafredo leader

- Thursday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 4 departs Llívia at 12:40pm CET (7:40am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Igualada at around 5:04pm CET (12:04pm U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:45pm CET (10:45am U.S. Eastern).

- Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) won Stage 3.  Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing) took over the lead in the general classification.

- Due to the weather (and shortened stage), Stage 4 will start at 2pm CET (9am U.S. Eastern).

- News: Movistar deny Rojas pushed teammates in Volta a Catalunya TTT. (Cyclingnews) - Spaniard only 'touched' riders, team says

- News: Valverde wins stage 3. (Cyclingnews) - Tejay van Garderen moves into overall lead

- News: Movistar angry at Volta a Catalunya 'mind-boggling' TTT penalty. (Cyclingnews) - BMC expresses reservations over way penalty handed out

- Wednesday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 3 departs Mataró at 11:40am CET (6:40am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at La Molina (Alp) at around 5:02pm CET (12:02pm U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:35pm CET (10:35am U.S. Eastern).

- BMC Racing won the Stage 2 TTT, putting Ben Hermans into the overall race lead.

- Movistar Team won the Stage 2 TTT, putting Alejandro Valverde into the overall race lead.

- News: BMC awarded Volta a Catalunya TTT victory after Movistar penalised for pushing. (Cyclingnews) - UCI officials overturn their original ruling and punish all of the Spanish team

- Tuesday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 2, a 41.3km Team Time Trial at Banyoles, gets underway at 2:53pm CET (9:53am U.S. Eastern) with the departure of the first team.  Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:35pm CET (10:35am U.S. Eastern).

- Davide Cimolai (FDJ) won Stage 1 ahead of Nacer Bouhanni and Kristian Sbaragli.

- Team Sunweb coach Luke Roberts: "Guided by the experience of Johannes and Laurens, this race will be a development opportunity for our younger riders and will give them a chance to shine. We will be looking for a chance to sprint with Max, with the support of Phil. On the more difficult stages I expect that Chris, Sindre and both Lennards will be out to animate the race and create opportunities."

- News: Is the ASO saving the Volta a Catalunya?. (Cyclingnews) - Rumours abound regarding possible deal between Tour organiser and Spain's oldest stage race

- Preview: Froome starts European season at Volta a Catalunya. (Cyclingnews) - Contador, Bardet and Valverde looking to challenge Team Sky

- Nairo Quintana (Movistar) won the 2016 Volta a Catalunya but is not back to defend.  Riders expected on the start line include: Chris Froome, Alberto Contador, Julian Alaphilippe, Daniel Martin, Alejandro Valverde, Wout Poels, Mikel Nieve, Rohan Dennis, Samuel Sanchez, Tejay van Garderen, Adam Yates, Ilnur Zakarin, Andrew Talansky, Pierre Rolland, Taylor Phinney, Jarlinson Pantano, Bauke Mollema, Arthur Vichot, Robert Gesink, Andre Greipel, Rafal Majka, Darwin Atapuma, Nacer Bouhanni, Pieter Weening,...

- Stage 1 map and info here.

- Monday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 1 departs Calella at 12:30pm CET (7:30am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Calella at around 4:58pm CET (11:58am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- This page will be updated throughout the race.

- The 2017 Volta a Catalunya is being held March 20-26.

- Art:  Volta a Catalunya Art


Alberto Contador HD action profile
Copyright © 2013 Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com


Chris Froome HD action profile
Copyright © 2013 Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com

-

NOTE:  If you believe you may not be seeing the latest content on this page, try clearing your browser's cache (or try a different browser).

- More info and links to come.

- We will update here with the best and latest live feeds at broadcast time.

- Welcome to our live coverage guide for the 2017 Tour of Catalonia (Tour de Catalogne en direct).

2017 Volta Ciclista a Catalunya LIVE
March 20-26, Spain
Official Website
Start List

Stage 7 starts at 11:00am CET
(5:00am U.S. Eastern)

Finish at around 2:04pm CET
(8:04am U.S. Eastern)

Live video from 12:15pm CET
(6:15am U.S. Eastern)


Barcelona

Barcelona weather


Volta a Catalunya Live Coverage

Live video streaming:

 

Links to come as available


(Eurosport livestream)
(-- CET)
(-- U.S. Eastern)
Alternative


(Esport3 live stream)
(--)
(--)
Alternative
Alternative


(TDP live stream)
(geo-restricted?)
(--)
(--)
Alternative


(eitb.com livestream)
(geo-restricted?)
(--)
(--)
Alternative

- more links to come -

(watch Volta a Catalunya online)

 

Live audio streaming:

  (--)
(Listen online)

Live tickers:

Official site ticker
(auto-translated)

biciciclismo
(auto-translated)

- More tickers to come -

News and photos:


(cycling news)
Yahoo photo gallery (AP/AFP)

Copyright © 2017 www.cyclingfans.com

 

2017 Volta a Catalunya Photos


Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team) wins Stage 3 ahead of Dan Martin.
photo Namuss Films/Volta a Catalunya


Movistar Team on their way to winning the Stage 2 Team Time Trial.  Note: BMC Racing have been awarded the Stage 2 TTT victory following a penalty assessed to Movistar.
photo Namuss Films/Volta a Catalunya


Davide Cimolai (FDJ) wins Stage 1 at Calella.
photo Namuss Films/Volta a Catalunya

2017 Volta a Catalunya Stage Profiles

2017 Volta a Catalunya Stage 1 Profile

2016 Volta a Catalunya Stage Profiles

Volta a Catalunya Stage 7 Profile

Notes from the 2016 Volta a Catalunya

- This race is also on in English on Cycling TV and a subscription includes On Demand replay.  (Details at right)

- Aleksei Tcatevich (Katusha) won Stage 7.  Nairo Quintana (Movistar) won the 2016 Volta a Catalunya.

- Official site ticker/tracking LIVE here.  (auto-translated)

- LIVE video here.  (English, Subscription Cycling TV)

- Stage 7 map and info here.

- Sunday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 7 departs Barcelona (Montjuic) at 11:00am CET (5:00am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Barcelona (Montjuic) at around 2:01pm CET (8:01am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 12:30pm CET (6:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Davide Cimolai (Lampre) won Stage 6.  Nairo Quintana (Movistar) retained the overall race lead.

- Stage 6 map and info here.

- Saturday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 6 departs Sant Joan Despi at 12:55pm CET (7:55am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Vilanova i la Geltru at around 5:28pm CET (12:28pm U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Wouter Poels (Team Sky) won Stage 5.  Nairo Quintana (Movistar) remains leader on G.C.

- Stage 5 map and info here.

- Friday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 5 departs Rialp at 12:40pm CET (7:40am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Valls at around 5:01pm CET (12:01pm U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Thomas De Gendt (Lotto-Soudal) won Stage 4.  Nairo Quintana (Movistar) is new leader in the general classification.

- Stage 4 map and info here.

- Thursday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 4 departs Baga at 12:30pm CET (7:30am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Port Ainé at around 5:01pm CET (12:01pm U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Daniel Martin (Etixx-Quickstep) won Stage 3 and took over the lead in the general classification.

- Stage 3 map and info here.

- Wednesday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 3 departs Girona at 12:20pm CET (7:20am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at La Molina at around 4:59pm CET (11:59am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Race leader Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis) won Stage 2, his second consecutive stage victory.

- Stage 2 map and info here.

- Tuesday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 2 departs Mataro at 12:40pm CET (7:40am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Olot at around 5:01pm CET (12:01pm U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis) won Stage 1 and is first overall leader.

- Stage 1 map and info here.

- Monday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 1 departs Calella at 12:40pm CET (7:40am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Calella at around 4:57pm CET (11:57am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Richie Porte (Team Sky) won the 2015 Volta a Catalunya.

- The 2016 Volta a Catalunya is being held March 21-27.


(Subscription Cycling TV)
(Commentators: Rob Hatch & Rob Hayles)
(Available U.S.A. and Canada)
(Also includes As Live Repeat)
(12:30pm CET)
(6:30am U.S. Eastern)

 

Volta a Catalunya Photos

 


Joaquim Rodriquez (Katusha) won the 2014 Volta a Catalunya.  Art by Greig Leach.  More Volta a Catalunya Art -  More The Art of Cycling -
Sponsored by Richeson Art -
Copyright © 2014 Greig Leach

Volta a Catalunya Stage Profiles

Stage 7 Profile

Stage 7 Profile of finishing circuit

Notes from the 2015 Volta a Catalunya

- Monday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 1 departs Calella at 12:20pm CET (7:20am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Calella at around 4:57pm CET (11:57am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- This race is also on in English on Cycling TV and a subscription includes On Demand replay.  (Details at right)

- Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) won Stage 7, his third stage victory of the race.  Richie Porte (Team Sky) wins the 2015 Volta a Catalunya.

- Official site ticker LIVE here.  (auto-translated)  Biciciclismo ticker LIVE here.  (auto-translated)

- LIVE video here.  (English, CTV subscription, details at right)

- LIVE video here.  (Spanish, Spain only) - LIVE video here.  (Basque, Spain)

- Stage 7 map and info here.

- Sunday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 7 departs Barcelona at 11:50am CET (5:50am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Barcelona at around 2:31pm CET (8:31am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 12:45pm CET (6:45am U.S. Eastern).

- Sergei Chernetski (Katusha) won Stage 6.  Richie Porte (Sky) remains overall leader.

- Stage 6 map and info here.

- Saturday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 6 departs Cervera at 12:00pm CET (7:00am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Port Aventura at around 4:58pm CET (11:58am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) won Stage 5.  Richie Porte (Team Sky) takes over the lead on G.C.

- Stage 5 map and info here.

- Friday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 5 departs Alp at 12:15pm CET (7:15am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Valls at around 4:54pm CET (11:54am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Tejay van Garderen (BMC) won Stage 4.  Bart De Clercq (Lotto-Soudal) is new overall leader.

- Stage 4 map and info here.

- Thursday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 4 departs Tona at 11:15am CET (6:15am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at La Molina (Alp) at around 4:57pm CET (11:57am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R) won Stage 3.  Pierre Rolland (Europcar) is new leader in the general classification.

- LIVE video here.  (Spanish, Tdp)

- Stage 3 map and info here.

- Wednesday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 3 departs Girona at 1:10pm CET (8:10am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Girona at around 4:53pm CET (11:53am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) won Stage 2.  Maciej Paterski (CCC) remains leader on G.C.

- Update: Due to weather problems, broadcasters are unable to get a feed and have gone to other programming.

- Stage 2 map and info here.

- Tuesday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 2 departs Mataro at 12:15pm CET (7:15am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Olot at around 4:55pm CET (11:55am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Maciej Paterski won Stage 1 from a 3-man breakaway and leads on general classification.  Pierre Rolland was second on the day while Bart De Clercq was third.

- Stage 1 map and info here.

- 2014 winner Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) won't start due to a stomach virus.  More here.

- Preview: Cycling News previews the race here.

- Chris Froome to lead Team Sky, reports CN.

- Eurosport is among the TV broadcasters showing the race in 2015.  The race will also be available live and On Demand on Cycling TV.

- Art:  Volta a Catalunya Art


Alberto Contador HD action profile
Copyright © 2013 Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com


Chris Froome HD action profile
Copyright © 2013 Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com


Richie Porte (Sky)
photo Copyright © 2013 Pete Geyer/cyclingfans.com

- Monday's Volta a Catalunya Stage 1 departs Calella at 12:20pm CET (7:20am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Calella at around 4:57pm CET (11:57am U.S. Eastern). Volta a Catalunya live streaming video is scheduled to get underway by around 3:30pm CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern).

- The 2015 Volta a Catalunya will be held March 23-29.


(Subscription Cycling TV)
(Commentator: Rob Hatch)
(Available worldwide excluding Europe)
(Also includes As Live Repeat)
(12:30pm CET)
(6:30am U.S. Eastern)

 

2014 Volta a Catalunya Stage Profiles

Stage 1 Profile

Stage 2 Profile

Stage 3 Profile

Stage 4 Profile

Stage 5 Profile

Stage 6 Profile

Stage 7 Profile

Volta a Catalunya Photos

(coming)