2018 Tour of the Alps LIVE stream, Preview, Start List, Route Details, Results, Photos, Stage Profiles

 

Bookmark and Share

Follow cyclingfans on Twitter and never miss a race. Cyclingfans.com: The #1 destination on the internet for live race coverage.

 

- 2018 Tour of the Alps Live Online Coverage Guide -


Tour of the Alps LIVE
photo Copyright © Fotoreporter Sirotti/cyclingfans.com

 Notes:  (latest notes always appear at the top)

 
Cyclingfans LIVE on Twitter

Starts Tuesday: Tour de Romandie LIVE
On Sunday: Liege-Bastogne-Liege LIVE
Also on today: Tour of Croatia LIVE

 

- Official text/image updates LIVE here.

- Note:  I am out doing photography much of this week and will be doing limited updates here during the hours that the race is live.  But you can find live feeds here.  And there will be videos post-stage here.

- News: Luis Leon Sanchez wins stage 4 in Lienz. (Cyclingnews) - Pinot stays in the overall lead.

- Videos: Tour of the Alps Videos. See previous years.

- Results: Tour of the Alps Results. See previous years.


- Start List here.

- Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana) won Stage 4.  Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) remains overall leader.

- News: O'Connor wins stage 3. (Cyclingnews) - Pinot moves into race lead.

- Ben O'Connor (Team Dimension Data) won Stage 3.  Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) took over the lead on G.C.

- News: Lopez wins stage 2. (Cyclingnews) - Sosa takes race lead.

- Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana Pro Team) won Stage 2.  Ivan Sosa (Androni) is new overall leader.

- News: Bilbao wins stage 1 of Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - Froome and Pinot to the fore on final climb.

- Pello Bilbao (Astana Pro Team) won Stage 1 and is first leader in the general classification.

- Preview: Chris Froome the rider to beat at Tour of the Alps - Preview (Cyclingnews) - Five days of racing offer perfect Giro d'Italia preparation.

- News: Chris Froome to face tough competition at Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - Aru, Pinot, Lopez and Bennett eye mountainous race ahead of Giro d'Italia.

- Team Dimension Data for the 2018 Tour of the Alps:

Louis Meintjes
Jacques Janse van Resnburg
Igor Anton
Lachlan Morton
Merhawi Kudus
Ben O’Connor
Natnael Berhane

- Jacques Janse van Rensburg: "Tour of the Alps is a great preparation race for the Giro as you can see from the start list of GC riders. We also have most of our Giro team here as we also have been racing in Catalunya together.  So at the moment the team should be riding well together at the end of this race! Ben has shown great form already in Catalunya and Louis is also coming into his form now, so we should have a great 5 days of aggressive racing coming up from our side."

- Photos: Tour of the Alps Photos (coming)

- Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) won the 2017 Tour of the Alps.

- Stage 1 route map, profile, time schedule, GPS and more info here.

- This page will be updated throughout the race.

- Photos: Giro del Trentino Photos

- The 2018 Tour of the Alps is being held April 16-20.

NOTE:  If you believe you may not be seeing the latest content on this page, try clearing your browser's cache (or try a different browser).

- More info and links to come.

- We will update here with the best and latest live feeds at broadcast time.

- Welcome to our live coverage guide for the 2018 Tour of the Alps (formerly Giro del Trentino (Tour du Trentin en direct)).

2018 Tour of the Alps LIVE
April 16-20, Italy
Official Website
Start List

Stage 5 starts at 10:45am CET
(4:45am U.S. Eastern)

Finish at around 2:57pm CET
(8:57am U.S. Eastern)

Live video from 2:00pm CET
(8:00am U.S. Eastern)


Smarano

 Trento weather


Tour of the Alps Live Coverage

Live video streaming:

 

Links to come as available


(Eurosport live stream)
(-- CET)
(-- U.S. Eastern)
Alternative


(L'Equipe 21 en direct)
(Now called "La Chaine l'Equipe")
(geo-restricted)
(-- CET)
(-- U.S. Eastern)
Alternative


(Italiano, Rai livestreams)
(geo-restricted)
(-- CET)
(-- U.S. Eastern)
Alternative

- more links to come -

(watch Tour of the Alps online)

 

Live audio streaming:

  (--)
(Listen online)

Live tickers:

Ticker to come

- More tickers to come if available -

News and photos:


(cycling news)
Yahoo photo gallery (AP/AFP)

Copyright © 2018 www.cyclingfans.com

 

2017 Tour of the Alps Stage 5 Profile

 

Notes from the 2017 Tour of the Alps

- News: Bookwalter goes close in Tour of the Alps final sprint. (Cyclingnews) - American given protected status by BMC but finishes second to Thibaut Pinot.

- News: Formolo and Caruso under fire for quitting Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - Italians DNS on final stage to rest for Liege, despite being fifth and eighth overall.

- News: Geraint Thomas wins Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - Pinot claims final stage.

- Start List here.

- Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) won Stage 5 ahead of Brent Bookwalter and Geraint Thomas.  Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) wins the 2017 Tour of the Alps.

- Friday's Tour of the Alps Stage 5 departs Smarano at 10:30am CET (4:30am U.S. Eastern) and is expected to arrive at Trento and around 3:28pm CET (9:28am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Alps live streaming video should get underway at 2:30pm CET (8:30am U.S. Eastern).

- 2017 Tour of the Alps Stage Previews, Towns, Timetables, Profiles:

Stage details Stage profiles
Stage 1: Monday, April 17
Kufstein/Innsbruck (142.3 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
 
Stage 2: Tuesday, April 18
Innsbruck-Vipiteno/Innervillgraten (140.4 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
Stage 3: Wednesday, April 19
Villabassa-Niederdorf/Funes-Villnöss (143.1 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
 
Stage 4: Thursday, April 20
Bolzano-Bozen/Cles (165.3 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
 
Stage 5: Friday, April 21
Smarano/Trento (192.5 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.

 

- Official text updates LIVE here.

- LIVE video here.  (L'Equipe, geo-restricted)  - LIVE video here.  (PMG Sport, geo-restricted) - LIVE video here. (Rai Sport, geo-restricted)

- News: Dennis fights back after suffering in the cold at the Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - Australian takes third in the sprint, while neo-pro Kilian Frankiny impresses in the break

- News: Thomas ready to fight for overall victory at the Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - 'It'll be a big, big day tomorrow,' Team Sky leader says before final showdown on the Bondone

- News: Pinot misses out on his first ever sprint victory at the Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - FDJ leader just 13 seconds down on Thomas before the final stage

- News: Montaguti wins stage 4. (Cyclingnews) - Breakaway caught up in hectic finale, Thomas retains race lead

- Matteo Montaguti (AG2R-la-Mondiale) won Stage 4 ahead of Thibaut Pinot and Rohan Dennis.  Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) retained the overall race lead.

- Thursday's Tour of the Alps Stage 4 departs Bolzano-Bozen at 11:20am CET (5:20am U.S. Eastern) and is expected to arrive at Cles and around 3:27pm CET (9:27am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Alps live streaming video should get underway at 2:30pm CET (8:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) won Tour of the Alps Stage 3 and is new overall leader.

- News: Team Sky take charge at the Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - British team show their collective strength before the Giro d’Italia

- News: Geraint Thomas puts Giro d’Italia rivals on the limit at Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - 'I was just racing, giving it 100 per cent' says Team Sky leader

- News: Thomas wins stage 3 to move into overall lead. (Cyclingnews) - Welshman beats Landa and Pozzovivo

- News: Tour of the Alps and Tour of Croatia stages shortened due to snow. (Cyclingnews) - Croatia organisers forced to chop summit finish in half, Alps find another climb in Tyrol

- News: Pinot ready to defend leader's jersey at Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - 'All the guys in the team are motivated and up for the job,' says FDJ leader

- Wednesday's Tour of the Alps Stage 3 departs Villabassa-Niederdorf at 10:40am CET (4:40am U.S. Eastern) and is expected to arrive at Funes-Villnöss and around 2:14pm CET (8:14am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Alps live streaming video should get underway at 12:30pm CET (6:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing) won Stage 2.  Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) is new leader on G.C.

- News: Thomas tries his hand in Tour of the Alps sprint. (Cyclingnews) - Landa goes on the attack as the high mountains loom

- News: Rohan Dennis pays back BMC teammates with sprint win at the Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - 'To get the win for them is great,' Australian says after early mistakes

- News: Rohan Dennis wins snow-shortened stage 2. (Cyclingnews) - Pinot takes over race lead in hilltop sprint

- Tuesday's Tour of the Alps Stage 2 departs Innsbruck at 11:00am CET (5:00am U.S. Eastern) and is expected to arrive at Innervillgraten and around 3:31pm CET (9:31am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Alps live streaming video should get underway at 2:30pm CET (8:30am U.S. Eastern).

- Michele Scarponi (Astana) won Stage 1 and is first leader in the general classification.

- Update: With stage shortened due to weather conditions, there are also issues with television coverage...

- News: Pinot pleased to weather opening day of Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - Frenchman building towards Giro d'Italia

- News: Snow forces organisers to shorten stage 2 of the Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - Brenner Pass and 40 kilometres removed from parcours.

- Due to the snowy conditions, Stage 2 started in Vipiteno-Sterzing instead of Innsbruck.  The stage profile has been changed accordingly.

- News: Thomas discovers his form and confidence at the Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - Team Sky leader answers question about alleged no-needles policy violations.

- News: Scarponi breaks dry spell with Tour of the Alps stage win. (Cyclingnews) - Italian veteran ready to fight with Thomas and Pinot for leader's jersey.

- News: Scarponi wins stage 1 of the Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - First win for Italian in years.

- News: Pinot, Dennis, Thomas and Dombrowski face off at the Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - Five mountain stages to reveal the form of the Giro d’Italia contenders.

- News: Dennis anticipating mountains test at Tour of the Alps. (Cyclingnews) - BMC's Australian takes the reins in hilly 5-day race as Giro d'Italia approaches.

- Stage 1 route map, profile, time schedule, GPS and more info here.

- Mikel Landa (Team Sky) won the 2016 Giro del Trentino (now called Tour of the Alps) and he is back to defend.

- Sergey Firsanov (Gazprom–RusVelo): "I was in a good shape on Giro dell’Appennino, but due to unfortunate fall, I finished just 15th. Now I have good legs and I am doing everything to shape up for Giro d’Italia.  Tour of the Alps has a tremendous list of contenders, some of them are favorites for the Giro. However, it just stimulates us for a fierce competition. We understand that it is a crucial part of the season and nobody is going to sit behind one’s back, we are going to compete for the top places."

- Gazprom–RusVelo line-up for the 2017 Tour of the Alps: Ildar Arslanov, Igor Boev, Pavel Brutt, Sergey Firsanov, Alexander Foliforov, Sergey Nikolaev, Ivan Rovny, Dmitry Kozonchuk.

- Monday's Tour of the Alps Stage 1 departs Kufstein at 12:00pm CET (6:00am U.S. Eastern) and is expected to arrive at Innsbruck and around 3:33pm CET (9:33am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Alps live streaming video should get underway at 2:30pm CET (8:30am U.S. Eastern).

- The 2017 Tour of the Alps is being held April 17-21.

 

 

2017 Tour of the Alps Photos

(coming)

2017 Tour of the Alps Stage Profiles

(coming)