Live race coverage

Giro d'Italia LIVE - Stage 2


 Notes:  (latest notes always appear at the top, below sticky notes)

Follow cyclingfans on Twitter and never miss a race. Cyclingfans.com: The #1 source on the internet for live race coverage.  Now in our 5th year.

 

- Monday's Giro d'Italia Stage 3 departs Grado at 12:35 CET (6:35am U.S. Eastern) and is expected in Valdobbiadene at around 17:17 CET (11:17am U.S. Eastern).  Giro d'Italia live video streaming on Universal Sports is scheduled to begin at 8:20am U.S. Eastern.  Giro live coverage on Eurosport is scheduled to begin at 15:00 CET (9am U.S. Eastern).  For start times for other sources, please check back in the morning.

- Giro d'Italia Stage 2 finally available On Demand on Universal Sports here.  More than 2 hours, 30 minutes of coverage.  Drag the slider button to go to any point in the video.

- More Giro videos listed below, including a 26-minute Stage 2 highlights post-race show on Rai.

- Regarding watching Universal Sports Giro live and On Demand in Canada, some people are reporting it isn't working for them.  We have contacted Universal and they are looking into it.  They assure us that both live coverage and On Demand should work in Canada as well as in the U.S.

- Universal Sports access:  Anyone having problems might find help hereMac users: Use the Safari browser. 

- Watch Lance Armstrong interviews before and after Stage 2 of the Giro on Universal Sports. (02:44)

- Watch Giro d'Italia Stage 2 highlights on Universal Sports, with Steve Schlanger and Todd Gogulski commentating. (01:36)

- Coming up:  Giro d'Italia Stage 2 photos and video clips.

- Kristen Nelsen is on the ground in Italy.  Thanks for the pics, Kristen!


2009 Giro d'Italia: Columbia-Highroad on the start line at yesterday's Stage 1 Team Time Trial.  They won the stage,
putting Mark Cavendish into the pink jersey of race leader.
Copyright © 2009 Kristen Nelsen


2009 Giro d'Italia: Astana on the start line at yesterday's
Team Time Trial.
Copyright © 2009 Kristen Nelsen

Also on today: 4 Days of Dunkirk LIVE

Live video streaming:

France3.fr
(15:10 CET (9:10am U.S. Eastern))

Direct8
(15:40 CET (9:40am U.S. Eastern))

 

- Giro LIVE via Eurosport. (French)

- Giro LIVE on ETB.

- Giro d'Italia LIVE: For North America, watch on Universal Sports. (link at right)

- Giro LIVE also via Eurosport Germany.  -Bernie S.

- Giro d'Italia LIVE now via Eurosport.  -Bernie S.

- Rai video streams seem to be down and/or geo-blocked today.  We are looking for alternatives.

- Giro LIVE audio playing on Eurosport, with David Harmon and Sean Kelly commentating. (links in our Live audio streaming section at right)

- Giro d'Italia LIVE on Universal Sports. (link at right)

- Giro d'Italia pre-stage 2 coverage has begun on Rai Sport. (links at right)  We are looking for additional Giro live video feeds.


2009 Giro d'Italia:  Mark Cavendish gets the first pink jersey
and podium kisses of the centenary Giro after his
Columbia-Highroad team won yesterday's Team Time Trial.
Copyright © 2009 Fotoreporter Sirotti for cyclingfans.com


2009 Giro d'Italia:  Columbia-Highroad on the podium
after beating Garmin-Slipstream and Astana in the TTT.
Copyright © 2009 Fotoreporter Sirotti for cyclingfans.com

- Now listing the official site ticker (links at right) which says the stage officially got underway at 13:38 CET, about 10 minutes ago.

- Giro d'Italia Stage 2 departs Jesolo at 13:35 CET (7:35am U.S. Eastern) and is expected in Trieste at around 17:12 CET (11:12am U.S. Eastern).  Giro d'Italia live video streaming on Universal Sports is scheduled to begin at 8:20am U.S. Eastern.  Giro d'Italia live coverage on Rai Tre is scheduled to begin at 15:05 CET (9:05am U.S. Eastern).  Giro live video on Rai Sport Piu is also scheduled to begin at that time but may begin earlier.  We hope to have more Giro live feeds starting with Stage 2.

 

- We recommend you open our Twitter feed in a separate window now.  If ever we have a server outage, we will update on Twitter and direct you to a live coverage page on another server.

- Welcome to our live coverage guide for the 2009 Giro d'Italia.

2009 Giro d'Italia LIVE
Italy, May 9-31
Official Website
Start List

 Stage 2 start: 13:35 CET
(1:35pm CET)
Expected finish: 17:12 CET
(5:12pm CET)


Jesolo

 Trieste weather


Live video streaming:


(8:20am U.S. Eastern)
(North America)


(15:05 CET)
(9:05am U.S. Eastern)


(15:05 CET)
(9:05am U.S. Eastern)
 


(15:00 CET)
(Geo-restricted)

(more links to come)

 

(more video links to come if available)

 

Live audio streaming:

(English)
---
Deutsch - Español
Français - Italiano
Russian
---
Check schedule

Radio Tour graphics:


(Not active for time trial stages)

Live tickers:


(English)
Deutsch - Español
Français - Italiano


(more tickers to come if available)

News and photos:


(cycling news)
Yahoo photo gallery (AP/AFP)


Graham Watson
Photography

 

Copyright © 2009 www.cyclingfans.com

 

Giro d'Italia LIVE - Stage 1


 Notes:  (latest notes always appear at the top, below sticky notes)

Follow cyclingfans on Twitter and never miss a race. Cyclingfans.com: The #1 source on the internet for live race coverage.  Now in our 5th year.

 

Also on today: 4 Days of Dunkirk LIVE

Live video streaming:

France3.fr
(15:20 CET (9:20am U.S. Eastern))

Direct8
(15:40 CET (9:40am U.S. Eastern))

 

- Sunday's Giro d'Italia Stage 2 departs Jesolo at 13:35 CET (7:35am U.S. Eastern) and is expected in Trieste at around 17:12 CET (11:12am U.S. Eastern).  Giro d'Italia live video streaming on Universal Sports is scheduled to begin at 8:20am U.S. Eastern.  Giro d'Italia live coverage on Rai Tre is scheduled to begin at 15:05 CET (9:05am U.S. Eastern).  Giro live video on Rai Sport Piu is also scheduled to begin at that time but may begin earlier.  We hope to have more Giro live feeds starting with Stage 2.

- Watch today's Giro d'Italia Stage 1 Team Time Trial On Demand on Universal Sports here.  This coverage is a whopping 3 hours and 35+ minutes.  You can skip around by dragging the slider button that appears below the video window.

- We hope to have more options for Giro live video streaming starting with tomorrow's Stage 2.

- Later today we will have Giro d'Italia video clips, stage re-broadcasts and world-class race photography from Fotoreporter Sirotti.

- Giro LIVE now on Rai Tre.  (links at right)

- Giro live audio commentary now on Universal Sports.

- Giro LIVE on Eurosport.  You can play a video feed and also play a Eurosport live audio feed separately for your audio commentary.  (links at right)

- Giro d'Italia LIVE now on Universal Sports.  (link at right)  Team Columbia-Highroad has just departed.  Teams depart at 5-minute intervals.  Full start order and times below.

- 4 Days of Dunkirk LIVE now on France3.fr. (link above)  Riders there are also racing for a pink leader jersey.

- On now: Giro d'Italia pre-stage coverage on Universal Sports.

- Giro d'Italia live coverage on Universal Sports is scheduled to begin at 8:30am U.S. Eastern.  Because this is about an hour before the first team, Team Columbia-Highroad, is scheduled to depart in the TTT, we are not sure if Universal Sports has the start time wrong or if they plan some pre-race coverage.  Giro d'Italia live video streaming on Rai Sport Piu is scheduled to begin at 16:20 CET (10:20am U.S. Eastern), followed 5 minutes later by live coverage on Rai Tre.  Actual times may vary.  We will list other Giro d'Italia live video feeds as they become available, and update our live coverage guides during the stage each day of the race.

- Giro d'Italia Stage 1 Team Time Trial Start Order and Times:

1. Team Columbia - Highroad: 15:35 CET (9:35am U.S. Eastern)
2. Rabobank: 15:40 CET (9:40am U.S. Eastern)
3. Barloworld: 15:45 CET (9:45am U.S. Eastern)
4. Garmin-Slipstream: 15:50 CET (9:50am U.S. Eastern)
5. AG2R La Mondiale: 15:55 CET (9:55am U.S. Eastern)
6. Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni: 16:00 CET
7. Bbox Bouygues Telecom: 16:05 CET (10:05am U.S. Eastern)
8. Xacobeo Galicia: 16:10 CET (10:10am U.S. Eastern)
9. Silence-Lotto: 16:15 CET (10:15am U.S. Eastern)
10. Acqua & Sapone - Caffe Mokambo: 16:20 CET
11. Quick Step: 16:25 CET (10:25am U.S. Eastern)
12. Liquigas: 16:30 CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern)
13. Fuji-Servetto: 16:35 CET (10:35am U.S. Eastern)
14. Cervelo Test Team: 16:40 CET (10:40am U.S. Eastern)
15. Team Saxo Bank: 16:45 CET (10:45am U.S. Eastern)
16. Team Katusha: 16:50 CET (10:50am U.S. Eastern)
17. ISD: 16:55 CET (10:55am U.S. Eastern)
18. Team Milram: 17:00 CET (11am U.S. Eastern)
19. Lampre-NGC: 17:05 CET (11:05am U.S. Eastern)
20. Caisse d'Epargne: 17:10 CET (11:10am U.S. Eastern)
21. LPR Brakes-Farnese Vini: 17:15 CET (11:15am U.S. Eastern)
22. Astana: 17:20 CET (11:20am U.S. Eastern)
 

- Giro d'Italia live coverage on Eurosport is scheduled to start at 15:45 CET (9:45am U.S. Eastern).  We expect to have, at minimum, live audio streams at around that time.  Scheduled start times for live video streams from other sources are noted in the Live video streaming section at right.

- We recommend you open our Twitter feed in a separate window now.  If ever we have a server outage, we will update on Twitter and direct you to a live coverage page on another server.

- Welcome to our live coverage guide for the 2009 Giro d'Italia.

2009 Giro d'Italia LIVE
Italy, May 9-31
Official Website
Start List

 Stage 1 start: 15:35 CET
(3:35pm CET)


Lido di Venezia

 Venice weather


Live video streaming:


(8:30am U.S. Eastern)
(North America)


(16:25 CET)
(10:25am U.S. Eastern)


(16:20 CET)
(10:20am U.S. Eastern)
 


(15:00 CET)
(Geo-restricted)

(more links to come)

 

(more video links to come if available)

 

Live audio streaming:

(English)
---
Deutsch - Español
Français - Italiano
Russian
---
Check schedule

Radio Tour graphics:


(Not active for time trial stages)

Live tickers:


(English)
Deutsch - Español
Français - Italiano


(more tickers to come if available)

News and photos:


(cycling news)
Yahoo photo gallery (AP/AFP)


Graham Watson
Photography

 

Copyright © 2009 www.cyclingfans.com

 

Giro d'Italia live coverage start times on Universal Sports

For North America, Universal Sports will provide live online video coverage of the entire Giro d’Italia, starting with the Stage 1 team time trial tomorrow at 8:30 a.m. ET. Each stage will be streamed live at 8:30 a.m. – 12 p.m. ET.

www.cyclingfans.com will for the 5th consecutive year publish a complete guide to live coverage options for the Giro d'Italia:  live video, live audio in multiple languages, live tickers and graphics.

More details to come...

Tour de Cycling - Friday

- LIVE now: Collegiate National Road Championships live video streaming here.  (Fort Collins, Colorado)

- More Tour de Cycling - Friday to come...

- 4 Days of Dunkirk LIVE now on Direct8.  Links below.

- 4 Days of Dunkirk:  Direct8 geo-restriction was just turned off with the completion of the film, should now be viewable worldwide.  Race coverage should begin in a few minutes.  Coverage on France3 starts later.

- Program scheduled currently on Direct8, a film, is geo-restricted: France only.

- Today's "Four Days" stage is an 18.7km individual time trial.

- On today:  Four Days of Dunkirk live video streaming:

Direct8
(15:20 CET (9:20am U.S. Eastern))

France3.fr
(16:30 CET (10:30am U.S. Eastern))

Four Days of Dunkirk Official Website
Start List (.pdf)
Live ticker (French)
(Google-translated to English)

Tour de Cycling - Thursday

- Giro d'Italia teams presentation LIVE now. (links below)

- Watch coverage of the Giro d'Italia Teams Presentation today on Rai Sport Piu starting at 16:15 CET (10:15am U.S. Eastern).

Live video streaming:

Rai Sport Piu
 

Tour de Cycling - Wednesday

- On Thursday:  Giro d'Italia Teams Presentation live at 16:15 CET (10:15am U.S. Eastern).

- Coming up:  Our first look at Giro d'Italia live coverage options.

Four Days of Dunkirk Coverage on France3 Television

- 4 Days of Dunkirk:  You can watch France TV news highlights of Stage 1 here.  (from 16:55 to 19:10)  Stage 2 highlights here.  (14:44 to 16:51)  -Bernie S.

- 4 Days of Dunkirk Stage 2 live ticker here (French).  (Google-translated to English)  More Tour de Cycling - Wednesday to come.

Four Days of Dunkirk Live Coverage


2003 4 Jours de Dunkerque: The peloton rolls through Boulogne-sur-mer during Stage 4.
Copyright © 2003 Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com

The season's first pink leader jersey won't be awarded at the Giro on Saturday but, rather, at the Four Days of Dunkirk/Tour du Nord-Pas de Calais which starts tomorrow (Tuesday) and runs through May 10.  Yes, the "Four Days" is actually six days of racing.  2008 winner Stephane Auge (Cofidis) is back to defend.  Among the other riders expected on the start line: Dumoulin, Fedrigo, Bouyer, De Weert, Pineau, Hoste, Casper, Engoulvent, Guesdon, Grabsch, Hansen, Henderson, Feillu, Lelay, Dessel, Bodrogi, Steegmans, Cooke, Lhotellerie.

There will be live video streaming of the final three days of racing, Friday through Sunday.  We'll of course be heavily into covering the Giro d'Italia but we will also include links for watching the Four Days of Dunkirk.  Details Thursday night.

Four Days of Dunkirk Official Website
Start List (.pdf)
LIVE ticker - Stage 1
(Google-translated to English)

Tour de Cycling - Sunday

- Trophee des Grimpeurs LIVE now on Eurosport France.  More Trophee des Grimpeurs info and links here.

Tour de Romandie LIVE - Stage 5

 

 Notes:  (latest notes always appear at the top, below sticky notes)

Also on today: Subida al Naranco LIVE
Spain, May 3
Official Website
Start List

Live video streaming:

rtpa.es
Alternative
(12:00 CET (6am U.S. Eastern))

 

- Trophee des Grimpeurs (Paris):  Cycling legend Jeannie Longo, 50, won this morning's women's event....for the 5th time.  Wow.  The men's race just got underway. (info and links in post below)  It is scheduled to be broadcast LIVE on Eurosport France starting at 16:45 CET (10:45am U.S. Eastern).

- Tour de Romandie "LIVE" now on SportItalia.  Their "live" coverage is 15-20km behind the actual race.  (links at right)

- Tour de Romandie:  Final kilometers of YESTERDAY's stage playing on SportItalia.  "Live" coverage of today's final stage expected to follow.

- Subida al Naranco LIVE on rtpa.es. (links above)

- Tour de Romandie:  Stage 5 departs Aubonne at 11:15 CET (5:15am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish in Geneva at around 15:02 CET (9:02am U.S. Eastern).  Tour de Romandie live video on cycling.tv is scheduled to begin at 14:00 CET (8am U.S. Eastern).  "Live" coverage on SportItalia is also scheduled to begin at that time but tends to run late.  (What SportItalia calls live coverage is actually tape-delayed.)

- Subida al Naranco:  The race departs Lugones at 10:00 CET (4am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish in Oviedo at around 13:43 CET (7:43am U.S. Eastern).  Subida al Naranco live video streaming on rtpa.es is scheduled to begin at 12:00 CET (6am U.S. Eastern).

- More links and info to come, then updated each day during the race.

- We recommend you open our Twitter feed in a separate window now.  If ever we have a server outage, we will update on Twitter and direct you to a live coverage page on another server.

- Welcome to our live coverage guide for the 2009 Tour de Romandie.

2009 Tour de Romandie LIVE
Switzerland, April 28-May 3
Official Website
Start List

 Stage 5 start: 11:15 CET


Aubonne

 Geneva weather


Live video streaming:


8am U.S. Eastern
(North America, Subscription)

sportitalia
Alternative
(14:00 CET (8am U.S. Eastern))

tsr.ch
(Switzerland, geo-restricted)

(more links to come)

 

(more video links to come if available)

 

Live tickers:

Official site ticker

 

(more tickers to come if available)

News and photos:


(cycling news)
Yahoo photo gallery (AP/AFP)


Graham Watson
Photography

 

Copyright © 2009 www.cyclingfans.com

 

2009 Trophée des Grimpeurs Live Coverage


2003 Trophée des Grimpeurs: The women (pictured) compete in the morning, the men in the afternoon.
Copyright © 2009 Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com


2009 Trophée des Grimpeurs Official Poster
(That's Jeannie Longo up front)

The 2009 Trophée des Grimpeurs (or Climbers Cup) is tomorrow, Sunday, in Argenteuil outside Paris.  David Lelay (Agritubel), then with Bretagne-Armor Lux, won the 2008 edition of the men's race and is back this year to defend.  Lelay had a strong ride at the recent Fleche Wallonne, giving himself a shot at victory on the final climb, before fading and finishing 12th.

Also expected on the start line: Feillu, Jalabert, Moreau (2004 winner), Geslin (2007 winner), Joly, Vaugrenard, Voeckler, Duclos Lassalle, Dumoulin, El Fares.

The best-ever finish by an American in this race was Bobby Julich's second place in 1999.

The Trophee des Grimpeurs is part of the French Cup.  The race is run on a 7.5km circuit: the women complete 8 tours, the men 17 tours.

Jeannie Longo, the winningest cyclist in history (over 1,000 career wins!), won the 2008 edition of the women's race.  Longo, 50, is also back to defend.  Longo will once again ride without teammates.

A U.S.A. women's developmental team will be on the start line:  Jerika Hutchinson, Alison Starnes, Devon Haskell, Jo Markham, Lindsay Myers and Sinead Miller.  Allez, les filles!


2004 Trophée des Grimpeurs: The legendary Jeannie Longo on the victory podium.
Copyright © 2005 Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com

Eurosport France will be showing the Men's 2009 Trophee des Grimpeurs live.  To our knowledge, this is the first time there has been live coverage of this event, at least in recent years.  No guarantees but if anyone is streaming this event online, we'll post links.

Trophee des Grimpeurs Official Website
Women's Start List (.pdf)
Men's Start List (.pdf)
Women's race starts at: 11:00 CET (5am U.S. Eastern)
Men's race starts at: 14:25 CET (8:25am U.S. Eastern)
Live coverage on Eurosport France: 16:45 CET (10:45am U.S. Eastern)

Syndicate content